The Golden Years

Is Life Over at 50?

Because some of you are acting like this is your last rodeo

Jason Weiland
4 min readOct 17, 2019

--

When we are kids, and still have our whole lives ahead of us, and the future feels so far away, people who are 50 years old are ancient to us. They are grandparents with their pants pulled up too high and their dentures falling out when they blow out the candles on their birthday cake. A 50-year-old only has a few years to live and is sitting on a porch somewhere yelling at the neighborhood ruffians to get off the lawn.

But, you and I know it’s not like that.

For many of us, 50 is when our life begins. We start appreciating life more, don’t make as many stupid decisions, have money to travel, have time to do the things we’ve always wanted to, and realize life is good.

I turned 50 last year, and it was the best year of my life. The road to 51 was a little rockier, but still good compared to the rest of my life. I’m working and making money, I learned to deal with my mental illness more healthily, I’m finally taking responsibility for myself, and hell, I’m a new father again!

--

--

Jason Weiland

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com