Is it Possible to Make Money Blogging?

Allow me to answer without blowing smoke up your butt

Jason Weiland
11 min readJul 22, 2022
Image created with Gemini AI

I don’t consider myself a blogging “expert,” but I do know enough and have over 20 years of experience. Do you know how often someone asks me how to make money blogging or how an average person can make money with a blog?

Sure, I’m a guy who has built hundreds of blogs from scratch, most with WordPress. Some went on to do well, some I sold, and some failed miserably. I learned enough along the way to talk about the subject comfortably, especially the “building” part of blogging.

But even I went through a year-long period where I was so disillusioned by the snake-oil salesmen in the blogging industry that I was telling everyone not to start a blog because the only people making money blogging were the jerks “revealing their secrets” and teaching others how to make money blogging.

I took a break from blogging. I stopped writing about it and shuttered the few blogs I had left. Blogging had become such a dirty word to me that I wanted nothing to do with it. I had become so confused that I no longer knew how I felt about blogging anymore.

But recently, my heart has been warming from all the honest people coming out of the woodwork in support of blogging, especially post-pandemic. I’m back to…

--

--

Jason Weiland

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com