I May Need WordPress After All

After all, it is the king of websites and blogs

Jason Weiland
4 min readJun 28, 2022
Photo by Moritz Mentges on Unsplash

One commenter told me that I would need WordPress again, but the mansplaining way in which it was written made my eyes glaze over, so I don’t remember much of what was said. As it is though, it turns out I may actually need to use it again.

I was perfectly happy using only platforms like GhostPro, Wix, WebFlow, and the like. I figured they would be powerful enough for any need I had until I came up with a new idea that I wanted to build. I want to build a website based on user-generated content (UGC), and the platforms I found seemed to be lacking in some way. Each one had at least one failing, whether they weren’t powerful enough or the monthly cost was too high, I have decided that the free plugins that WordPress offers have all the functionality I need.

I got tired of WordPress being so bloated, but the more I think about it the more I realize just how much I am giving up by not using it. Frankly, there are ways to make WP work faster and have a smaller footprint, and I find I miss a lot about it when I relegate myself to just using the platforms.

I’ve been using WP since it came out, and I guess it was premature to try to give it up so easily.

--

--

Jason Weiland

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com