How Do I Get in a Better Mood?

It’s darn simple and anyone can do it

Jason Weiland
4 min readJan 27, 2019

It seems like I’m always trying new tricks to get myself in a better mood. I’ve made it no secret that I struggle daily with my emotional wellbeing, and I’ll try anything I can do to spark a more positive outlook.

A few days ago, I stumbled across something that immediately put me in a better mood. I’ve spent the last couple of days testing my theory to make sure I wasn’t mistaken.

All I have to do to get in a better mood is smile.

Now I’m not talking about any old smile — it must be genuine, and for me, it has to be the kind of smile that lights up my face and brightens my eyes.

The thing is: until recently, I rarely smiled at all. So, for me to produce the kind of smile I need to lighten my mood, I really have to work for it.

This morning I was depressed and unmotivated because of everything happening with the Medium Partner Program. You know the story: everybody seems to be making half of what they made last month with far more engagement. Well, it’s the same for me. I was driving down the road, and I stopped and looked at myself in the rearview mirror and blasted the most angelic smile I could muster.

I even took a picture:

--

--

Jason Weiland

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com