Did Netflix Screw Up the Squid Game English Subtitles and Dubbing?

Can we get a do-over?

Jason Weiland
5 min readOct 14, 2021
Lee Jung-jae from Squid Game (Elle Taiwan, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons)

I just finished Squid Game season one last week. I am behind compared to most people living in the Philippines, because even my daughter watched it before me.

While you are trying to decide if I am a terrible father for allowing my 9-year-old to watch such a violent show just know that I am unconventional, and I felt the watching of a great story by a great writer was more important than a little fake blood.

I knew I was right about it because the story totally drew my daughter in, to the point she was sobbing at the end of the marble games episode (no spoilers people!)

I actually saw the end before I saw the rest and it kind of ruined the twist for me, but I watched anyway after I heard the story of how Squid Game even became to be made.

According to The Mirror:

“…fans are lucky the show saw the light of day as creator Hwang Dong-hyuk says it took him a whopping 10 years just to get the thing made. Speaking to The Korea Times, Hwang revealed that he actually came up with the idea for the series in 2008.”

As a writer, I admire that kind of patience and stubbornness to see your story be made into something you knew would be a sensation.

--

--

Jason Weiland

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com